top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebrandon corley

General Equity Applied to Capital Crimes: A Working Anthology

Updated: Aug 31, 2023


How did the Reformed of the 16-17th centuries understand general equity as it relates to capital crimes? This post seeks to create a list of names to help answer that question. For now, this is just a list of names, but the explicit quotations will be added in when a I have time.


I have tried to keep this list to explicit citations that indicate a certain crime necessarily must be punished specifically by death. Were this list considering people arguing for punishment *up to and including death*, this list would be colossal and include most premodern historical figures. Although not every theologian has explicitly mentioned every crime in their writings, there are at least a few who I am near absolutely certain would affirm in nearly every category, those theologians being John Cotton, George Gillespie, Samuel Rutherford, Johannes Piscator, William Gouge, Thomas Cartwright, Theodore Beza, Heinrich Bullinger, and Franciscus Junius. These men also represent those who have written the most out of everyone here on the topic of civil punishments. This does lead me to believe that there was widespread agreement among the Reformed that the following list of punishments ought to be punished capitally, even if specific theologians do not ever explicitly state this. Indeed, in my own research, there are at least two crimes that appear to be near-universally affirmed as necessarily capital by the Reformed, those being murder and adultery (the only exception that I have ever found being Thomas Goodwin to adultery). Although this list is mainly concerned with the Reformed of the 16-17th centuries, I have also decided to include some other sources such as pagans. I believe that Draco and Cicero would support much here, I am however, having a hard time finding specific quotations from them and thus I cannot place them on the list until and if that happens. If anyone wants to see a specific quotation, feel free to ask, and I will provide substantiation. The adultery list is one I have been making for some time, and sadly, I have forgotten where I found many citations. Nevertheless, a quick Google search, "[Name] death penalty adultery" and some digging should turn out results. I can assure you though that I did my best to keep this list as a whole, and that section in particular, as accurate as possible. This is also a good resource for that section, although I refused to use it in the links, as I am searching for direct (English) quotations.


Idolatry:


Blasphemy:


False accusation of capital crime (Deut. 19:18-19):


Murder:


Manstealing:


Adultery:


Sodomy:


Bestiality:


Incest:


Striking/cursing of parents:


Witchcraft/sorcery:




Some of the best resources on general equity that I have come across can be read here:




It should also be known that Beza (who coined the term "general equity"), Piscator (whose commentary on Exodus stands behind 19.4), Gillespie (a Westminster divine and one of the chief expositors of 19.4), and Junius (who wrote the greatest treatise on the subject of the era) all held that the capital penalties for all moral Mosaic crimes still apply today (put more accurately, whoever civilly by the common law is liable to the death penalty according to the law of Moses, likewise the same person must be considered liable to the death penalty in our time).

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On the Formal and Material Cause of Justification

I thought it would be good to create a short post on the form amd matter of justiifcation, drawing from Voetius here: https://solideogloriaapologetics.blogspot.com/2023/12/gisbertus-voetius-1589-1676.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page